My Body, My Mind

Is there a party going on upstairs?
Because, I can’t sleep and the reason might be there
It’s a low drone and a bass-line repeat
Combined with anxious crawl and stifling heat

It’s a ragtime
Of dubious fun
A rough and roll festival
With phasers set to stun

The drum-roll won’t quit
And I’m soaking up the quilt
With growing resentment
And disquiet to the hilt

…But just wait

And pause for

Breath…

On closer inspect, the culprit’s my pulse
And rhythmic heart beat
As an example of being out of touch
It takes the biscuit, the burger and the Caramel Crunch
I must be unaware of where I am in the world
But the need to reassess stands out unfurled

I am in this head
And in this frame
Time to accept
Without self-blame

My body, my mind

My Body My Mind

Leave a Reply

