Know The Score – This Must Be The Place


KNOW THE SCORE – This Must Be The Place

Due to appear in a forthcoming issue of Clash Magazine, this is a brief look at the soundtrack from This Must Be The Place

Paolo Sorrentino’s unique tale of a goth-rocker avenging his father’s Nazi era torment is beautifully complemented by a soundtrack dreamt up by Will Oldham and David Byrne. Performing as the amusingly named – and totally untrue – The Pieces of Shit, the duo (along with vocalist Michael Brunnick) contributes some of the film’s most dream-like songs. Also featuring Nino Bruno’s sublime Every Day is a Weary Wait from and classics from Iggy Pop (The Passenger) and Byrne himself, the score is a perfect accompaniment to one of this year’s most haunting releases.

%d bloggers like this: